Home » Projects » Year » 2023 » 1987 Cascade High School Boys Soccer
Jim Ollom

1987 Cascade High School Boys Soccer

In the spring of 1987, the Cascade High School Boys Soccer team went 20-0, winning the program’s first state championship in undefeated fashion. The team was 4-0 in the state tournament and outscored the opposing teams 9-3. This was also the first of five consecutive years that the Cascade Bruins played in the state championship game.

The 1987 Cascade High School Boys Soccer team was led by the 10th year head coach Pat Sullivan. The Bruins outscored their opponents 75 – 11 in route to winning their 7th consecutive WESCO Championship and making the first of five consecutive state title game appearances. While 13 seniors led the charge, many underclassmen shined. Junior Clint Carnell led the team in scoring with 26 goals including scoring a goal and assisting on the other goal in the 2-1 state championship win against Kennedy. The team also contained three future High School All-Americans: Clint Carnell (junior) Duke University men’s soccer, Chris Henderson (sophomore) UCLA, and Sean Henderson (freshman) UCLA.

Many outstanding athletes comprise this championship team. Nine Bruins made All-Conference including senior David Clark, who also won the Walsh-Platt Student-Athlete of the Year award and went on to SPU to star in basketball; both goalkeepers, senior Noel Soderblom (SPU/UW Men’s Soccer) and senior Eric Christensen (Cal Poly SLO Men’s Soccer) played college soccer; senior Phil Bartlow earned a scholarship to play soccer at Santa Clara University; Senior Jason French (SDSU Men’s Soccer) played with the USA National Men’s Beach Soccer Team; and senior John Wilson (WWU Men’s Soccer) who in 2000 is named the Head Coach of Women’s Soccer at DePaul University and coached a CUSA Tournament Championship and in an NCAA Division 1 tournament.

Results of the 1987 State Championship Tournament

  • First Round
    • Cascade 3
    • Port Angeles 0
  • Quarterfinals
    • Cascade 1
    • Kentwood 0
  • Semifinals
    • Cascade 3
    • Woodinville 2 
  • Championship
    • Cascade 2
    • Kennedy 1