1982 Arlington High School Girls Basketball Team

1982 Arlington High School Girls
Basketball Team

No one considered the 1982 Arlington High Girls Basketball team as a team to win the AA State Championship when the season started.

The 1982 Arlington High Girls Basketball team had a record of 11-6 in the regular season. The team ended up fourth and last seed for the Class AA District Girls Tournament. The Arlington team beat Lake Stevens with Lisa and Lori Carlson leading the scoring offense. In the last game of the district tournament, Arlington played great defense to keep the Woodway high-scoring team to 23 total points. They won 2nd place to advance to the regional playoffs.

At the AA Regional Tournament, Arlington beat Fife, 54-38. This win was the seventh straight win. The team’s offense was led by center Brenda Souther, 10 points, 20 rebounds and 19 blocked shots, and forward Lori Carlson, 18 points.. The win qualified Arlington for the finals for the first time in Arlington High School history.

In the AA State Quarterfinals, Arlington (18-6) won by 15 points over Clarkston (19-5). The team came into the State AA Girls Basketball tournament as a longshot against tournament favorite Olympia (unbeaten team). Eagles won 58-49 against the Olympia Bears. Coach Torpey said it was her finest win as a coach and she stated after the game that …. “As a team we played better” and “Individually, they’re probably better, but we just played better as a team”.

Brenda Souther got into foul trouble during the championship game against Prairie. Jerri Ann Miears picked up the scoring for the team and lead the Eagles in scoring with 21 points. The Eagles outscored Prairie by 8 points winning the championship game 46-38.

In March 2022, the 1982 Arlington High Eagles State Championship team was honored at the Arlington High Girls Basketball final home game.

Roster: Bridget Mansur, Jerri Ann Miears, Krystal “Krysti” Van Putten, Lori Carlson, Brenda Souther, Lisa Carlson, Deanne Kemp, Robin Hollingsworth, Teresa Langdon, Mary Daily Not in Picture: Head Coach Donna Torpey, Asst. Coach John Scheffer, Vicki Ransbottom, Denise Erwin, Eiko Olson, student trainer Ruth Nyborg